Skip to content

We, the Giveaway!

08/06/2012

giveaway

You heard right. I am giving away a copy of We, the Drowned by Carsten Jensen which was my most favouritest of books in 2011. It is simply a magnificent book how can I put into words how much I love this book?

I love this book I just want to share it with everyone. Is there any better reason? Whilst I’d love to buy each and every one of you dear readers a book I can’t afford it so I’m just going to settle for one lucky person.

So first to business before I get carried away with how wonderful this book is and how you all should read it, or at least give it a go.

The rules are few and far between. To enter I simply need:

1. Your name

2. An email for which I can contact you with if you win.

3. Ends on the 17th of June.

4. Open to everyone.

You can enter both of these in the form below for the sake of privacy.

Please also leave a comment in this post and if you’d be very kind to share it with your friends as well so everyone can have an opportunity to win this most marvellous of books.

An epic drama of adventure, courage, ruthlessness and passion by one of Scandinavia’s most acclaimed storytellers.

In 1848 a motley crew of Danish sailors sets sail from the small island town of Marstal to fight the Germans. Not all of them return – and those who do will never be the same. Among them is the daredevil Laurids Madsen, who promptly escapes again into the anonymity of the high seas.

As soon as he is old enough, his son Albert sets off in search of his missing father on a voyage that will take him to the furthest reaches of the globe and into the clutches of the most nefarious company. Bearing a mysterious shrunken head, and plagued by premonitions of bloodshed, he returns to a town increasingly run by women – among them a widow intent on liberating all men from the tyranny of the sea.

From the barren rocks of Newfoundland to the lush plantations of Samoa, from the roughest bars in Tasmania, to the frozen coasts of northern Russia, We, The Drowned spans four generations, two world wars and a hundred years. Carsten Jensen conjures a wise, humorous, thrilling story of fathers and sons, of the women they love and leave behind, and of the sea’s murderous promise. This is a novel destined to take its place among the greatest seafaring literature. (Amazon)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. FleurFisher permalink
    08/06/2012 22:28

    This has been on my wishlist ever since you wrote about it last year – and I will read it one day, win or lose!

    • 08/06/2012 22:40

      Don’t forget to enter your name & email into the formy thing too! It’s such a good book – I hope you will read it one day.

  2. Beth Knight permalink
    08/06/2012 22:35

    Why, why, why are you giving it away????!!!!

    • 08/06/2012 22:38

      I’m not giving away my copy. I bought another one… because I just needed a book and buying books for other people seems to be a great way of avoiding the TBR pile whilst fulfilling that urge to pour money into the book business.

  3. 09/06/2012 07:50

    I love Scandinavian literature and this sounds great. Thanks for doing a giveaway.

    BTW I love your header/button you made for the giveaway.

  4. 09/06/2012 09:06

    Love the giveaway! Especially since my sister-in-law and her family just moved to Danmark – ánd I’m participating in the Nordic Challenge! Fingers crossed 🙂

  5. Malvina Beatrice permalink
    09/06/2012 09:25

    Sounds like a wonderful book. I’m a fan of historical fictions.

  6. Rikki permalink
    09/06/2012 13:25

    Wow, this sounds like you really really love the book. And so I entered in spite of my book buying ban. But entering a giveaway is not buying, is it?

    • 09/06/2012 13:27

      Of course not! 😉 Especially this book because it is wonderful.

  7. 09/06/2012 20:50

    This book sounds captivating and I enjoy reading about “far away lands”. Your enthusiasm and love for this book are catching, too! Thank you so much for hosting this giveaway :o)

    • 14/06/2012 07:31

      Thanks 🙂 It’s lovely to host a give away of a book you’re passionate about.

  8. 10/06/2012 22:33

    Hooray….I tweeted your giveaway. I have bought a copy already though, so no need to enter me in the giveaway. I’ll post it on my Facebook page as well.

  9. 11/06/2012 22:31

    Oh, wow – I JUST saw this book at the bookstore and almost picked it up (I judged it by its cover, I’m not ashamed to say – I just loved the look and feel of it!). Thanks for the chance at winning it! 🙂

    • 11/06/2012 22:35

      Fate! The cover attracted me as well and sometimes that does work out well.

  10. 12/06/2012 21:57

    Hee, great giveaway! I tweeted about it on my Twitter, thanks for hosting this wonderful giveaway =)

  11. 14/06/2012 05:10

    Thanks for hosting the giveaway! Going to spread the word! 🙂

Leave a Reply

