Skip to content

Tune in Tuesdays–Book Playlist Edition

06/03/2012

Tune in Tuesdays is hosted by Ginger over at GReads where we share the music we love, old and new.

This month we are sharing music that reminds us of books. Well, oddly I did that last week and often I do try to find music that matches book anyway. As I am still reading Murakami, I am still listening to jazz music as well.

However, after discovering Sigor Rós last week I’ve been put in the mood for anything Norse, or from around that era. I have picked up ‘The Anglo-Saxon World Anthology by Kevin Crossley Holland, despite the fact I was actually looking for his collection of Norse myths (which I couldn’t find.) Anyway to get to the point, the reason I’ve got in the mood for all this is because of this:

It is taken from an Icelandic poem called Hrafnagaldr Óðins which can be found in The Poetic Edda which I have just purchased, oops.

Sigor Rós’ music is currently my favourite and I guess it has inspired me to read certain types of books. It certainly goes well with reading poems of heroism in The Anglo Saxon World Anthology – which also includes Beowulf.

Here’s another of my favourites. I love that they’ve put it to images from BBC’s Planet Earth.

Next week I’ll share some music that has played an important part in my reading, and how I remember certain books I’ve read in the past. For me, books and reading go synonymously and it is perhaps the reason why I tend to be a bit of a soundtrack fan.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/03/2012 15:51

    Oooh, beautiful! I’ve always had an envy for people who can manage to marry their writing to music, so I’ve been scouting out some good potential soundtracks, and I think Sigor Rós could be a good direction to go! Thank you for sharing.

    • 06/03/2012 15:56

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoy him too. I tend to go a little mad when I find a new music artist I love because I’m a little fickle when it comes to music. His music is some of the most inspiring music I have heard in a long time.

  2. 06/03/2012 18:28

    I’ve heard of this person before. Did he do the soundtrack for Penelope? I can’t recall where I heard him, but I remember liking it 😀
    Hope you have a great week,
    Ninja Girl

  3. 06/03/2012 20:58

    LOVE Sigur Ros so so so much!!!! Their music inspires a lot in my life. It’s so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

