Skip to content

Eating Books

03/07/2012

When I love a book, or start to feel I could love a book, I say I could eat it. I could lick the words right off the pages. I do actually get a physical urge to bite the book. Don’t worry, I don’t actually follow through with this urge, that would be wrong.

Anyway… I’m reading 11.22.63 by Stephen King and I’m getting that feeling, like I just wanna take a big chop out of it and chew the paper up into wood pulp and swallow. I kinda feel the same about music. I’ve just been listening to Linkin Park’s new album Living Things (like, constantly since I bought it) and I just feel like I could eat this music.

I imagine books would be rather crunchy. There’s nothing more satisfying then crunching down on something and mashing it between your teeth. Like So I imagine that when I eat a book it will be very crunchy. And I really do imagine myself sometimes just eating all the words out of the book I’m reading. I’m serious.

I’ve recently inherited a Kindle and the discovery that I can now buy books whilst sitting on the loo as well as reading them has somewhat smashed my book ban and I’ve kinda gone over to the point of madness. Yet, despite this I wonder if I’ll ever get this urge with an ebook. You can’t munch it, you can’t crunch it. I kinda imagine ereaders to be like biting into hard rubber – whereby your teeth leave a dent in it for a bit perhaps, but nothing really penetrates. Plus munching a Kindle or any other Ereader would involve shattering and splintering rather then that beaver-chomping-through-wood sound I imagine a paper book would sound like.

On a side note, I kinda imagine eating music to be like sucking up spaghetti.

When you love a book, what does it make you feel like doing?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/07/2012 02:03

    I admit it…I never think of eating my books. I am sitting here laughing at the thought of you book shopping on the toilet though. LOL! I feel like hugging my books when I love them. Maybe twirling in a circle whilst hugging my book. :)

  2. Beth permalink
    03/07/2012 02:29

    LOL, I’ve never thought of eating a book but I think I could inhale them. Like Carin, I’ve been known to hug the books I love.

  3. 03/07/2012 11:51

    Haha! Well I’ve been known to stroke the cover/spine and gaze lovingly at them a bit too long :s

  4. 03/07/2012 13:31

    I’ve wanted to marry books and marry various book authors, be they male or female, I will marry any author of a book I love. I will frequently sniff a book I love, but if it’s musty or stinky in some other way then I don’t. I read lots of library books, which often smell like their close relatives and consorts, other books, which is a delicious smell, but sometimes it will smell like cigs or someone’s awful perfume.

    I’ve lost track of all of the authors I’ve wanted to marry, but here are some names: Alexander McCall Smith, Markus Zusak (and I seriously would marry him, Vic watch out, he is hot, he writes well and he is HOT!), Louise Penny, I’m sure there are others I’ve forgotten.

    I do feel like I’ve wanted to eat books, or maybe I’m getting this mixed up with fabric. I think I’ve purchased fabric that I wanted to eat because it looked that good. I’m not sure I’ve ever actually wanted to crunch on a book. Having said that, I’m thrilled that you’re loving 11.22.63, because it gives me that rare opportunity of saying “I told you so!” to Fiona. :D

  5. 03/07/2012 13:37

    Nice song, BTW. ((((FI))))

  6. 03/07/2012 16:35

    That’s an interesting point Laura’s made about marrying books. Off the top of my head I can’t recall feeling like that, but I have always said that if The Sundays debut album Reading Writing and Arithmetic were a girl I’d want to marry it. So yeah, I get that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

